April 23, 2024

The Pizen Switch Times

Established 2021

9yoa Catcher Bryson Veil with 99yoa Pitcher Marion "Babe" Rodgers

Highlights from Walker River Little League Opening Ceremonies 2023

Yerington, Nevada ~Saturday April 15, 2023 was Opening Day for Walker River Little League at the Buck Aiazzi  Memorial Field.

Walker River Little League is the Official Little League Baseball & Softball affiliation for Schurz, Smith and Yerington, Nevada. Jerry Bryant is the Director and Spokesman for WRLL.

Jerry recognized the Board of Directors: Shane Martin, Ed Kilgore, Stephani Johnston, Kelly Beruman, Joey LaBranch, Jason Borsini, Keith Trout, Jessy Cochrane, Bobby Sanchez, Dave Baumback, Desi Martin, Courtney Quintero, and Matt Veil. Brigitte Peterson and Brandon Coombs were applauded for their “above and beyond” volunteerism for the Walker River Little League. Then Director Bryant praised the more than 100 community volunteers who are making the 2023 season outstanding for the players.

The crowd applauded when Jerry Bryant named several sponsors including Hunewill Construction (donated all the gravel for all of the baseball fields), Peri & Sons Farms, Simon Hall Johnston, State Farm, Centro De la Familia and HudBay Minerals.

The national anthem was sung by RoMijo Conchola; Player Pledge was read by ZayVerie Baumback; and First Pitch was thrown by Marion “Babe” Rodgers (99 years old) and caught by Bryson Veil (9 years old).

Babe Rodgers has lived in Yerington for the past 65 years. He served in World War II in the Pacific Theater from 1943 to 1946.  Babe fought against 3 Kamikaze Pilots and lived to tell about it. He was awarded the Purple Heart.

Babe Rodgers and Bryson Veil were able to talk together for a few minutes (about baseball, pitching & catching) after Jerry Bryant introduced them to each other in the dugout.

Alfred “Al” Bond, Quartermaster  of Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 8084 in Yerington escorted Babe Rodgers to the ceremonial pitcher’s mound to throw the first pitch.

Here are the names of the 2023 Walker River Little League Teams & Coaches, followed by an all-inclusive photo gallery:
Juniors Softball:
El Fuego -Garey Smith
Walker River Rumble – Caeley Irvine

Wolf Pack- Leonel Rodriguez

Juniors Baseball:
Rockies – Brad Johnston
Bucks – Nate Landa

Destroyers – Shane Martin

Majors Softball:
Daisies – Haley Richardson
Peaches – Mark Kosak

Comets – Piper Davis

Majors Baseball:
Giants – Nate Carlgren
Nationals – Leo Solari

Dodgers – Dominic Nunez

Minors Baseball:
Rockies -Bobby Sanchez
Reds -Thomas Nuti (was not present)
Athletics – Joey Fanjul
White Sox – Tommy Crowder

Diamondbacks – Jason Borsini

Farm Softball:
Orioles – Alyssa Stone
Tigers – Kip Henderson

Blue Jays – Ty Joyner

Farm Baseball:
Cubs – Jessy Cochrane
Red Sox – Letitia Talbot
Padres – Chase Walden
Rays – Sarah Watson
Royals – Sarah Lamkin

Mets – Travis Edney

HotRods -Alex Corona
Storm – Kevin Booth
Yardgoats – Noelle Watson
Mudcats – Todd Hayden
Bulls – Vanessa Masini
Lugnuts – Aaron Stoddard
Redwings – Angela Williams

Trashpandas – Bobby Sanchez

Click on a photo to enlarge and begin gallery: