

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS LYON COUNTY NEVADA 27 South Main Street Yerington, Nevada 89447 Phone: (775)463-6531 Fax: (775)463-6533 Wes Henderson, District 1 Scott Keller, District 2 Tammy Hendrix, District 3 Robert Jacobson, District 4 Dave Hockaday, District 5

Andrew Haskin County Manager

News Release FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 15, 2024

Media Contact

Taylor Allison Emergency Management & Government Affairs Phone: (775) 344-8325 Email: <u>tallison@lyon-county.org</u>

Lyon County Clerk/Treasurer's 2024 General Election Recap Statement

Yerington, Nevada – Lyon County Clerk Treasurer Staci Lindberg is excited to share the results of the 2024 General Election with our residents and provided the following election summary statement:

"We had an incredibly busy election cycle with 3 NRS mandated elections, one special election, and 4 mock elections within the year 2024. The roll out of the top-down voter registration system in August of 2024 had its challenges, but was successful overall. The Secretary of State's Office went above, and beyond with their support to our County. We were assigned two on-site Poll Pad trainers and one on-site poll worker experienced in elections and poll pad operation to help our team operating a new system. The training and support throughout the process was beyond reproach.

Our active voter base in Lyon County has grown significantly since the 2022 General Election. In 2022 we had an active voter base of 43,135 with a turnout of 54.91%, showing a total number of voters who cast a legal ballot as 23,684. Currently for the 2024 General Election we have an active voter base of 47,927 with a turnout of 71.08%, with a legal ballots cast of 33,617. It is a blessing that our County is growing and is engaged in our elections.

It was interesting to see that Mail in Ballots consisted of 51% of our legal ballots cast. Not sure what the future election will bring when it comes to electronic verses mail in ballots but I can assure you that both processes made your voices heard with clarity and integrity.

Meet your newly elected and/or re-elected Lyon County Officials, and congratulations to all."

State Assembly District 38	Gregory S Koenig
State Assembly District 39	Ken Gray
Commissioner District 1	John Cassinelli
Commissioner District 3	Tammy Hendrix
Commissioner District 4	Robert Jacobson
School Board Trustee District 1	Sherry Parsons

School Board Trustee District 3 School Board Trustee District 5 School Board Trustee District 7	Dawn Carson Elmer W Bull James D Whisler
Stagecoach GID (3 positions)	Joseph Catanzarite Terry Donohue Paul O Kyle
City of Yerington Mayor Yerington City Council (2 positions)	John Joseph Garry Jeremy "Jerry" Bryant Omar Lopez
Fernley City Council Ward 5	Joe Mendoza
Justice of the Peace: Walker River Canal Dayton	Pete J Spinuzzi Lori Matheus Camille Vecchiarelli

Local Questions:

Central Lyon County Fire Protection District LY 01-24

Yes 80.74% support

Thank you to all who supported the clerk's office throughout the process, with a big shout out to the Sheriff's Office VIP's, our hardworking volunteers at the polls (poll workers and leads), City of Fernley Clerk's office, city of Yerington Clerk's office and the Lyon County Staff.

###